The Political Vending Machine: Elections in Israel (slash) Palestine

13 02 2009

During my last trip to Israel, I was fortunate enough to hang out with a Israeli anarchists. That was almost two years ago, and I still don’t know what to make of them. I think I pissed some of them off in the process of reporting my story. In that case, please forgive me. At least I got some good pictures:

On Tuesday Israelis voted in their parliamentary election. They had an eclectic choice of parties, from Kadima and Likud to the ultranationalist party Yisrael Beitenu. There is hardly any unity in the Israeli Parliament, and internal Israeli politics is one hindrance towards a solution to the Israel/Palestine conflict. On the flip-side, another hindrance is internal Palestinian politics, with Fatah and Hamas fighting for control of the Palestinian political scene.

(by Jonathan Singer; photo taken by the author on 19 June 2007)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

